Skip to content ↓
St Luke's Catholic Academy

St Luke's

Catholic Academy

Pyenest Road, Harlow, Essex, CM19 4LU

Through God’s love we learn together, grow together and achieve together.

Curriculum Content, Provision and Approach

At Our Lady of Fatima Catholic Multi Academy Trust education is centred around the child.  Children are taught to be the person they can be and so realise their potential. Through Christ we value them as individuals. Every child can achieve something and our curriculum explores and encourages the children’s gifts. 

We follow a creative curriculum that allows children to develop a belief in themselves, a confidence to learn and persevere. We believe learning is to be engaging, motivating and inspiring; reflecting high expectation and challenge as through this the children will love to learn. We encourage children to ask questions, determine their own success and expect them to articulate what they need to do to achieve.

All subjects are taught cross-curricular where possible though Mathematics, PE and Music may be more discreet. Literacy (including Speaking and Listening, Debate and Drama), Geography, History, Science, PSHE, Computing, Art and Design Technology are taught to all year groups using a topic approach. The topics change each half term. Forest School Learning is also offered to year groups on a rotation. Our schools follow the Oxford Reading Tree scheme, supplemented with Bug Club and Project X reading books and follow Jolly Phonics.

You can find out more about the curriculum for each year group by visiting the 'Class Pages' on the 'Our Learning' tab. Parents can also talk to the class teacher if they would like to find out further information about the curriculum. Prospective parents or visitors may also speak to a member of the Senior Leadership Team about our curriculum.

During the Summer term we will teach our Personal Relationship programme entitled “Journey of Love” as approved by the Brentwood Catholic Diocese. In order that children may grow and develop healthily and holistically towards an understanding of successful future relationships, they must be at ease with themselves and grow in self-knowledge. This scheme supports this through a progressive series, teaching activities and reflections which focus on physical, social, emotional, intellectual and spiritual development. Of note, in year 5 the children will learn about the physical and emotional changes that accompany puberty and year 6 the children will develop, in an appropriate way for their age, an understanding of sexuality, the act of sexual intercourse within a loving relationship and the process of having a baby.